Sports & Recreation

Locals Rule Endurocross Season

National motocross race season ends with Webb first and Haaker second

Coming into the final round of the 2015 Geico Endurocross Series, a national motocross race series, were two racers from the San Benito County area. After a full season of races, they approached the national championship almost neck-and-neck in the standings.

Cody Webb, originally from Aromas, was leading Colton Haaker, originally from Tres Pinos, by 10 points. After the qualifying round, Webb's lead was reduced to 9 points due to Haaker having the fastest qualifying lap time.

Anticipation was palpable as the gate dropped. The free-for-all battle started right away going into the first turn. The bottleneck had started. Haaker made an error on the first lap and ended up having to face the frustration of climbing his way up from last place.

Webb got ahead by the second lap and held the lead with a calm and collected head until the ninth lap, where he tipped his bike over in a tricky rock garden section. He was passed by second place Taylor Robert.

At the same time, Haaker passed Kyle Redmond for third place and the battle for the season title was on. Haaker put some pressure on Webb and tried for a couple passes until his last effort where he got stuck on the outside of a corner. The race finished with Robert in first, Webb in second — securing his championship win — and Haaker in third, putting him in second place in the championship.

You can learn more about the Ontario EnduroCross by going to the Dirt Bike website.





Will Schwabacher