Government / Politics

New members join San Benito County Democrats panel

Additions to San Benito County Democratic Central Committee leave three openings as local party reorganizes to promote candidates.
New organizing committee members Barbara Rubio, Pat Loe and Elia Salinas. Photo provided.

This article was contributed by Wayne Norton, a member of the San Benito County Democratic Central Committee representing supervisorial District 2. He is also on the Communications Committee.

San Benito County Democrats recently added three new members to the local party’s organizing committee. They include Barbara Rubio, Pat Loe and Elia Salinas. With the addition of the new members, the Democratic Central Committee has openings in Districts 1, 4, and 5.

“I am extremely proud to welcome these dedicated Democrats,” said County Chair Leslie Austin. “We are building a strong, diverse team to advocate for our values and to elect Democrats to national, state, and local office.”

She added, “San Benito County is on the move!”

The San Benito County Democratic Central Committee is the official Democratic party organization in San Benito County. It’s 22 members represent Democrats in all county supervisorial districts. The Central Committee includes members appointed by Democrats elected to represent the county in the California State Assembly, State Senate, and Congress.


Wayne Norton

Recognized by the State Assembly in 2019 for protecting the environment, Wayne Norton is a two-term elected Aromas Water District director and candidate for San Benito County Supervisor in District 2. A Vietnam veteran and former political reporter, Wayne was the managing editor of the daily Hollister Free Lance. He is an active advocate for quality public education and was a founding staff member of Anzar High School, a California Distinguished School. As a former Ombudsman, Wayne protected the rights of residents in nursing homes and investigated elder abuse. He currently serves as a director on the Seniors Council of Santa Cruz and San Benito Counties, and has consistently led and volunteered for a variety of public commissions and community organizations since moving to the area in 1985. Wayne can be contacted at (831) 227-3530,, or on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.