Government / Politics

Rivas issues statement on $3.5 million in expected emergency homeless funding

San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz and Monterey Counties expected to receive funds via the California Emergency Solutions and Housing program.

Information provided by the office of Assemblyman Robert Rivas.

State Assemblyman Robert Rivas issued a Feb. 7 press release, in which he praised the California Department of Housing and Community Development for awarding over $3.5 million to the Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz Counties’ Continuum of Care (CoC).

The release states that funds from the California Emergency Solutions and Housing (CESH) program are expected to be allocated regionally by an administrative agency to help those who are homeless or at risk of homelessness.

“We must continue working to get our homeless residents the help they need, and this funding is a positive step in that direction,” Rivas said in the press release. “This award will help provide emergency and permanent affordable housing for homeless individuals and families, as well as critical wraparound services.”

He continued.

“Together with the $12.5 million Homeless Emergency Aid Program (HEAP) grant approved for Monterey and San Benito Counties earlier this year, this is important progress for our residents in need. As always, I look forward to assisting our local leaders in any way I can on this critical issue. We must work together to ensure that all residents have access to the help they need and no one is forced to go without a home.”

CESH is a grant program designed to provide assistance to local governments, nonprofit agencies or unified funding agencies—designated by the CoCs to administer these funds in their communities during a five-year term, the release said. CESH is authorized by SB 850, which was signed into law by then-Gov. Jerry Brown in 2018. The California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) is responsible for the administration of CESH.

Assemblyman Robert Rivas (D-Hollister) represents California’s 30th Assembly District, which includes all or portions of the cities and towns of Aromas, Big Sur, Chualar, Gilroy, Greenfield, Gonzales, Hollister, King City, Morgan Hill, Salinas, San Juan Bautista, Soledad, Spreckels, and Watsonville.

BenitoLink Staff