The 14’s Allstar District Champions. Photo by Monica Sims.

Babe Ruth teams will represent San Benito County at state tournaments in Madera and Lompoc in early July.

Hollister Babe Ruth teams recently became district champions after winning against Lodi-based teams on June 30. The Babe Ruth 14 year-old team beat Lodi with a 10-5 final score and the Babe Ruth 15 year-old team beat Lodi with a 2-0 final score.

“I have a good feeling that we’ll move pass state,” said 15 year-old catcher Zachary Sims.

Moving forward, both teams will compete for state titles on Friday, July 6. Other districts in the tournament include Salma, Hanford, Madera, and Lompoc.

The Babe Ruth 14’s tournament will be held in Madera, CA while the 15’s tournament will be held in Lompoc, CA.

“Their goal is to continue and to make it to the Babe Ruth World Series,” said San Benito Babe Ruth Secretary and mother Monica Sims earlier this week.

In 2017, the Babe Ruth 13’s made it all the way to state finals, but unfortunately did not come home triumphant. A year later, those boys make up the Babe Ruth 14’s and are headed back to state with the intent to go further this time around.

When asked what sets these athletes apart from previous years, Monica shared that many of the boys have been playing together for years.

“The friendship bond, on and off the field, it’s forever,” she said.

For Zach, the team chemistry after years of playing together is what makes representing the San Benito County worthwhile. 

Because the San Benito Babe Ruth teams are not traveling teams, the boys have come this far not through scouting or publicity, but simply for their love of the game.

“They all know they won’t make it big, but they hope one of them will,” Sims said.


Congratulations and good luck to the 14’s: Tony Aiello, Jack Brothers, Michael Canez, Tony Canty, Justin Cortez, Andrew Flores, Ethan Fowles, Chase Freeman, Julian Gonzalez, Jake Mahler, Michael McShane, Thomas Moscoso, Israel Ramirez, Primo Reyes, Keon Texeira; their coaches: Jim McShane and Tony Aiello; as well as their manager, Frank Reyes.

Congratulations and good luck to the 15’s: Thomas Breen, Trevor Cordova, Jared Esparza, Braydon Etheridge, Eduardo Gonzalez, Eli Hatchett, Ryan Lo, Tyler Kashiwagi, Andrew Minana, Noah Perez, Anthony Pieracci, Zachary Sims, Chris Soto, Andrew Tobias; their coaches: Oscar Esparza and Ross Kashiwagi; as well as their manager, Kevin Hatchett.