wheat commission.jpg

In August 2014, the California Wheat Commission will conduct district elections for the positions of commissioner and alternate commissioner for three commission grower districts, including San Benito County. 

A qualified candidate is defined as any person who is engaged within this state in the business of producing wheat for market during any of the preceding three marketing seasons, and who resides or farms in the district.  Interested individuals may obtain a nomination petition via the commission's website in the News/Info section or by calling the Wheat Commission office at (530) 661-1292. To be included on the ballot, completed nomination petitions must be returned to the Commission no later than July 29.

District 3 – Amador, El Dorado, Placer, Nevada, Sacramento, and Solano counties
District 5 – Monterey, San Benito, San Francisco, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Santa Clara, and Ventura counties
District 8 – Kern, Los Angeles, Riverside, and San Bernardino counties.

Involvement in the California Wheat Commission enables producers to help determine the commission's program and budget priorities. The commission is also active in several national organizations, giving commissioners a direct role in major industry issues. The term of office for commissioners and alternates is three years.

For more information, click here.