BenitoLink Pledge of Champions raised $67,260 in donations

Thank you to all the individuals and local organizations who participated in our fundraising campaign!
BL Team pictured from left to right: Content Manager Nicholas Preciado, BL Board Treasurer Bob Marden, Junior Journalism Project reporter Malia Chang, reporter John Chadwell, Marketing Lead Laura Romero (seated), BL Board Secretary Lois Locci, reporter Noe Magaña and Executive Director Leslie David. Photo by Lisa Robinson.

Our wonderful and growing community of supporters raised $67,260 in BenitoLink’s fourth annual Pledge of Champions! Because the Institute for Nonprofit News (INN) and other NewsMatch partners are dedicated to seeing local nonprofit news succeed, BenitoLink is expected to receive matching funds of $25,000 or more in March.

More individuals and local businesses participated in this year’s effort than ever before. Our individual donors increased tremendously, from 80 in 2017 to 275 in 2018.

Community-supported news gives San Benito County residents direct access to the BenitoLink team, and we welcome suggestions and ideas for articles. We want to thank everyone who donated during the Pledge of Champions and look forward to regular communication with BenitoLink members. (See the BenitoLink homepage for team contact info).

Your donations have made a significant impact on BenitoLink’s annual budget for 2019, enabling us to expand our coverage as we continue to provide fresh, accurate reporting to San Benito County.

We are especially grateful to three major donors: Randy and Rebecca Wolf, Sallie Calhoun and Matt Christiano, and Hugh and Jackie Bikle who committed additional matching donations beyond the $25,000 offered through the national NewsMatch campaign. This year, we thanked these donors by presenting them with their own home/office emergency kit. The kit contains tools and supplies to help them be prepared in the event of an earthquake or other emergency. These individuals have made a commitment to provide San Benito County residents consistent coverage of local government, education, transportation and other significant issues.

BenitoLink also thanks the Community Foundation for San Benito County, Monterey Peninsula Foundation and United Way for their continued support of local nonprofit news.

BenitoLink has a lot of exciting work ahead in 2019:

  • Continued regular coverage of local government and education
  • Training for local youth through our BenitoLink Junior Journalism and Latinx programs, thanks to funding from the Monterey Peninsula Foundation and United Way of San Benito County
  • Researched, accurate investigative reporting
  • Forums and community events about topics that matter to you

Thank you to these BenitoLink members who help keep your local news source thriving:

  • Anita and Mike Cullinan
  • Ann Ross
  • Bob and Kathy Tiffany
  • Bob Marden/Pfizer
  • Brian and Tina Schmidt
  • Carol Hawkins
  • Carol Lenoir
  • Charlie and Lisa Tobias
  • Christine Breen
  • Claire Del Curto
  • Dan Dungy & Nancy MacClean
  • David & Denise Cauthen Wright
  • Devii Rao
  • Donna Swanson
  • Earl & Linda Nursement
  • Emily Renzel
  • Gary & Ria Byrne
  • George Ball
  • George Lewis
  • Gerry  Wright
  • Gigi Brisson
  • Gretchen Lester
  • J. and E. Bessa
  • Jack Murphy
  • Jackson & Leslie Schwabacher
  • James O’Donnell
  • Jean Lierly
  • Jean Weinhart
  • Jennifer Coile
  • Jim McWhirter
  • Joan Sattler
  • José A. Diaz
  • Judi Johnson
  • Julie & Joe Morris
  • Karminder & Randy Brown
  • Karson Klauer
  • Kathina Szeto
  • Keith Severson
  • Ken & Brenda Weatherly
  • Kenneth Kovanda
  • Kerry Tobias
  • Leslie Austin
  • Lettie and Jon Nichols
  • Lila LaHood
  • Linda Breslauer
  • Linda Morrissey
  • Lois Locci
  • Louk Markham
  • Lynn Overtree
  • Margaret Correa
  • Marianne Gennis
  • Martha Schwabacher Fund
  • Martin Miller
  • Mary Margaret Lanning
  • Mel Angel
  • Michael and Ashleigh Anderson
  • Parveen Sharma
  • R & B Stratton Trust
  • Ramona Koch
  • Raul Ceja
  • Ray & Peggy Pierce
  • Rebecca Salinas
  • Rob Bernosky
  • Robin Lucas
  • Roger MacWilliamson
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Roseanne Herzog
  • Rosemary Kley
  • Sally Silva
  • Sandy Cabral
  • Sara Steiner
  • Sonny Flores
  • Sue Cross INN
  • Susan Logue
  • Susan Modic
  • Tami Aviles
  • Teresa Lavagnino
  • Thomas Breen
  • Thomas Walerius
  • Tim Johnson
  • Trisha Green
  • Valerie Egland
  • Will Schwabacher
  • Willis Pack
  • Wm. Mark Meiggs
  • Women’s Club of Hollister
  • BenitoLink Nonprofit Club- 150 members

BenitoLink is your community news, fueled by you and for you. Throughout the year, you can go to BenitoLink’s home page and make an annual donation or consider becoming a sustaining member by joining others who give monthly payments that fit their budget. Keep important, local nonprofit news flowing your way. Become a BenitoLink Member today!

BenitoLink Staff