November Pledge of Champions supporters making impact

BenitoLink readers have donated $10,535 in support of local nonprofit news.

Since the Pledge of Champions started, BenitoLink readers have donated $10,535 in support of San Benito County’s local, nonprofit news. Thank you to everyone who has already taken part in the Pledge! It’s exciting to see so many local and regional community members stand with us.

With health concerns and elections, it’s clear how important information can be for our families and for San Benito County as a whole. With our reporters giving their all over the last 10 months, and with more challenges ahead in 2021, your show of support is encouraging to the BenitoLink team.

Thanks to several major donors and the Institute for Nonprofit News, which is helping to rebuild local news all over the nation, you can double the impact of your gift during Pledge of Champions. You still have time to feel the satisfaction of taking part. BenitoLink’s winter fundraiser runs from Nov. 1 until Dec. 31.

Community support is critical to the success of local nonprofit news. You can either contribute on a monthly basis, ensuring long term stability for local news, or make a one-time payment by going to our Support page.

Pledge of Champions donors to-date:

  • Anonymous
  • Micheal Hussey
  • Dianne Carman
  • Susan Logue
  • Joan Domingues
  • Shari Stevenson
  • Alan Clark
  • William Baker
  • Liz Smith
  • Leslie Schwabacher
  • Daniel Dungy
  • Dale Coke
  • Karson Klauer
  • Mary Margaret Lanning
  • Rebecca Salinas
  • Gary and Ria Byrne
  • Greg Pape
  • Sara Steiner
  • Carol Lenoir
  • Valerie Egland
  • Judy and Robert Steward
  • Elizabet McMahon
  • Theresa Lavagnino
  • Susan Schwabacher
  • Anne Caetano
  • Bob Reid
  • Dohn Larson
  • Margret Ellwanger
  • Beverly Meamber
  • John and Roberta Bessa
  • Geri Johnson and Gary Rocchi
  • Willis Pack
  • Dayna Lynd Pugh
  • James O’Donnell
  • Vivian Fisher
  • Denise Cauthen-Wright
  • Tami Aviles
  • Linda Ponzio
  • Cathy Sorensen
  • Maureen Sarafini
  • Carol Hawkins
  • Ann Marie Barragan
  • Mary Sue Davis
  • Phillip Walter Wilson
  • Gerry Wright
  • Lois Locci

It’s been a challenging, at times exhausting year, and the BenitoLink team has made sure you have the information you need. Support BenitoLink and continue to enjoy news on your local government, schools, transportation, health and housing. Thanks to local donors, business and nonprofit sponsors, major donors, and corporate sponsors, we are building our own local nonprofit news, here to serve you for years to come. Old Fashioned? You can also send a check to: BenitoLink—829 San Benito Street, Suite 200, Hollister, CA 95023.

Leslie David

Leslie David is a Bay Area independent reporter/producer and is a BenitoLink founding board member. She has produced for radio, television, newspaper and magazines in both California and Wyoming. She was with KRON-TV News in San Francisco as camera-woman, editor and field producer, where she won the Commonwealth Club's Thomas Storke Award with Linda Yee for their series on the Aids Epidemic. She started as a small market news reporter shooting her own 16mm film at KEYT-TV Santa Barbara. Leslie lives on a ranch with her family in San Benito County.