Our best Pledge of Champions yet

Thanks to generous matching opportunities from our major donors and the Institute of Nonprofit News, BenitoLink's annual fundraiser reached over $90,000!

This article was written by BenitoLink Executive Director Leslie David.

BenitoLink saw outstanding support from our community members this year during our annual Pledge of Champions fundraiser!

Donations reached approximately $37,488 by Dec. 31. And thanks to a generous $40,000 matching opportunity from our Major Donors, a $15,000 match from the Institute of Nonprofit News (INN) and additional funding coming in from Google, our total Pledge of Champions brought in over $90,000! These funds will be used for our small staff, freelance reporting team and internship program.

Final figures will be available soon. With such a successful campaign, donors used nearly every bit of the $40,000 offered as a matching incentive by our Major Donors Sallie Calhoun and Matt Christiano, and Randy and Rebecca Wolf.

Pledge of Champions donors to-date include:

  • Anonymous
  • Micheal Hussey
  • Dianne Carman
  • Susan Logue
  • Joan Domingues
  • Shari Stevenson
  • Alan Clark
  • William Baker
  • Liz Smith
  • Leslie Schwabacher
  • Daniel Dungy
  • Dale Coke
  • Karson Klauer
  • Mary Margaret Lanning
  • Rebecca Salinas
  • Gary and Ria Byrne
  • Greg Pape
  • Sara Steiner
  • Carol Lenoir
  • Valerie Egland
  • Judy and Robert Steward
  • Elizabet McMahon
  • Theresa Lavagnino
  • Susan Schwabacher
  • Anne Caetano
  • Bob Reid
  • Dohn Larson
  • Margret Ellwanger
  • Beverley Meamber
  • John and Roberta Bessa
  • Geri Johnson and Gary Rocchi
  • Willis Pack
  • Dayna Lynd Pugh
  • James O’Donnell
  • Vivian Fisher
  • Denise Cauthen-Wright
  • Tami Aviles
  • Linda Ponzio
  • Cathy Sorensen
  • Maureen Serafini
  • Carol Hawkins
  • Ann Marie Barragan
  • Mary Sue Davis
  • Phillip Walter Wilson
  • Gerry Wright
  • Lois Locci
  • Stuart Blakewood
  • Eugene Zanger
  • Nichole Anglin
  • Charlie and Lisa Tobias
  • Amelia Ryan
  • Joan Sattler
  • Karson Klauer (additional donation)
  • Trisha Green
  • Paul Hain
  • Linda Breslauer
  • Bob and Kathy Tiffany
  • Carol Berlutti
  • Roseanne Herzog
  • Thomas Walerius
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Dr. Parveen Sharma (in memory of George Ball)
  • Marianne Gennis
  • Jean Leirly
  • Chang So
  • Stephen Filseth
  • Barbara Rubio
  • Ed De Groot
  • Michael and Ashleigh Anderson
  • Steve Kittrell
  • Hugh and Jackie Bikle
  • Claire Del Curto
  • Mary and Stevens Masters
  • Gretchen Lester
  • Dr. Martin Bress
  • Virginia Basgall
  • Kenneth Kovada
  • John Johnson
  • Larry Slonaker
  • Megan Wilson
  • Anderson Homes
  • Joyce Richman- In memory of Marty Richman
  • Craig Barton
  • Dana Cleary
  • Kay Filice
  • Michael Dobler
  • Richard and Joan Marie Randolf
  • Anonymous
  • Lawrence and Margaret Rebecchi
  • Janet Watson
  • Christine Breen
  • Rosemary Kley
  • Schwabacher Family Fund- In memory of Meema
  • Nancy Bareilles
  • Peter Breen
  • Susan Schwabacher (additional donation)
  • Jennifer Coile
  • Julie & Joe Morris
  • Michael Smith
  • Karminder & Randy Brown
  • Kozean Wright
  • Mayra Zendejas
  • Esther Curtice
  • Trisha Green
  • Kathina Szeto
  • Vince Fata
  • Sonny Flores

Thank you everyone for your commitment to local news. Personal donation amounts were made by San Benito residents, regional Bay and Monterey area donors, and out of state supporters in Idaho, Nevada, Arizona, North Carolina and Hawaii. Individual donations were given in amounts starting at $10 and going all the way up to a top individual donation of $6,700!

BenitoLink welcomes community involvement through Community Opinions, internships, volunteer opportunities through committees like our Elections/Events Committee or Strategic Planning Committee and our Open Editorials. Feedback on our articles is always welcome.


Leslie David

Leslie David is a Bay Area independent reporter/producer and is a BenitoLink founding board member. She has produced for radio, television, newspaper and magazines in both California and Wyoming. She was with KRON-TV News in San Francisco as camera-woman, editor and field producer, where she won the Commonwealth Club's Thomas Storke Award with Linda Yee for their series on the Aids Epidemic. She started as a small market news reporter shooting her own 16mm film at KEYT-TV Santa Barbara. Leslie lives on a ranch with her family in San Benito County.