BenitoLink knows the local news and publishes it for you daily.

We are in the last stretch of our Fall Fundraiser, which ends Dec. 31 and we show $43,353.89 in donations that will be doubled! We want to thank all of you supporting local nonprofit news and remind you why your donation is important.

It takes a special kind of commitment to get fast-moving news stories up on the website daily. One thing that is required is a dedicated group of reporters, local reporters who care about the community they serve.

Breaking news happens suddenly and our team does its best to get it to you- both accurately and quickly. Sometimes, stories have to wait until phone calls are returned or facts can be checked. It’s frustrating but it is just part of the business of careful reporting. 

Co-Editor and Content Manager Noe Magaña and our main reporter team Robert Eliason, Carmel de Bertaut, Jenny Mendolla Arbizu and John Chadwell give back to their community way beyond a typical job.

I can’t count the amount of times reporter John Chadwell has changed his plans to cover a story for BenitoLink or called in because he saw something we should check on. He doesn’t have to do it. He wants to do it because he is involved and committed to this community and its readers.

We are fortunate to have reporter/photographer Robert Eliason calling in from San Juan Bautista and keeping us up to date on events, features and news stories coming from west county.

Jenny Mendolla Arbizu, raised in Hollister, gravitates toward features but has proven she can also do in-depth reporting or a quick-turnaround breaking news story.

Reporter Carmel de Bertaut keeps a sharp eye out for health and safety issues, often publishing articles about vaccines, illnesses, fires or flooding early in the morning or late into the night. This is news that could save your life.

Each reporter represents a different upbringing, a different culture or generation, a different perspective.

The point is, everyone pitches in and gives a lot of themselves when it comes to getting the news out to our readers.

As a nonprofit news organization, we’re committed to giving San Benito County residents important stories and critical safety updates as fast as possible. But we need your help. Our community-funded newsroom can’t serve your need for information without local reader support.

From now through the end of the year, we’re inviting you to join all the wonderful donors who have already given during this fall campaign to make our work possible. If you give by December 31, NewsMatch and our local funders will maximize your investment in us by matching your donation.

We are currently showing $43,353.89 in donations that will be doubled. Help us get to 50K or $100,00 with the match.

What do you say? Will you stand up for nonprofit news that works for you?


Alacia Welch Leila Sadeghian
Alan Heminger Leslie Austin
Amelia Ryan Leslie Schwabacher
Anna Smith Liz Smith
Annamaria Baez Lois Locci
Barbara Rubio Lynn Overtree
Beverley Meamber
Bob Reid Margret Ellwanger
Cara Vonk Mark Dean Eason & Dawn Eason
Carol Hawkins Mark Levine
Carol Lenoir Martin and Rhoda Bress
Chang So Mary Katherine Rubino
Charles Tobias Mary Margaret Lanning
Charles W Sorbet Jr Maryann Armijo
Christina Andrade Maureen Serafini
Christine Breen McCullogh Family Fund
Clark Family Fund Mel Angel
D Ruprecht Michelle Noble McCain
Daniel Dungy & Nancy MacLean Mitch Hammond
Dave Wright Monica Vargas
Dawn Soza Nancy Oliveira
Debbie Pollack Cochran Nick Bailey
Denise Cauthen-Wright Patrice Kuerschner
Dennis Finnigan Patrick and Kozean Wright
Diane Ortiz Patrick McKenzie
Dianne Carman Paul Scherer
Donna Swanson & Gary Swanson Phillip Esparza
Dr. Parveen Sharma Rachel Ponce
Dr. Ruby Dholakia & Nikhilesh Dholakia Rebecca Salinas
Dr. Stelvio Locci Regina Datta
Elizabeth Smith Rhoda Perrotti
Eugene Zanger Robert E Bernosky & Jenny Bernosky
Gary & Ria Byrne Robert Fulton
Gene Kogle & Kathy Kogle Robert Marden
Gerri Johnson & Gary Rocchi Robin Pollard
Gerry Wright Roger Brown
Gifford Swanson Rohit Sharma
Harriet Brin San Benito Engineering & Surveying Charitable Fund
Heather Callens Sandy Cabral
Hugh and Jackie Bickle Sara A Steiner
Janet Grist Shari Stevenson
Janet Watson Sharlene Van Rooy
Jean Lierly Sharma Ohthalmic Services
Jerry Magorian Sophie Schwabacher
Joan Domingues Stacie A McGrady
Joan Randolph Steven Perricone
John David Stirling Burnet
John Reed Stuart Blakewood
Judy Gansen Susan Dean & Franklin Dean
Karen Van Gerpen Susan Echaore-McDavid & Richard McDavid
Karminder Brown Susan Schwabacher
Katherine Modic Tami Aviles
Kathi Stirling-Morris Thomas Breen
Kathleen Davis Thomas Davis
Kathy Kessler Tina Baine
Kay Filice Tina Jollyschmidt
Kerry Tobias Trisha Brem
Kimberly Randle Valerie Egland
Krista Van Laan William Baker
Kristine Waller William Powers
Larry Slonaker Willis Pack
Laura Romero Women’s Club of Hollister